
Virgin Queen - Errata 

Last updated January 6, 2013 

Latest Changes in BLUE text. 

 

Diplomatic Influence Chart 
The Protestant flag is in the wrong row in the Holy Roman Empire column of this 

chart (the final column on the right edge). Only one power should ever be listed 

as a deactivate power; in this case it should be just the Ottoman. The Protestant 

is allowed to activate the Holy Roman Empire in a game with 4 or 5-players.  The 

corrected right-hand column of the chart thus looks like this: 

 

Diplomatic Status Chart 
England may declare war on Ireland at a cost of 1 CP.  The chart should thus look as shown below. If Spain wins the 

Diplomatic Status check and opts for Intervention (9.4, Step 4), treat this as an immediate trigger of war between 

England and Spain. If a power does intervene on behalf of Ireland, follow all steps of the Activation Procedure (24.2), 

including Step 6, Add Irish Rebels. 

 

Reference Chart (Front) 
The first row on the Colony Table should read “2-4”, not “2-3”. 

The Treasure Fleet Zone table should tell you to roll 1d6, not 2d6. 

Reference Chart (Back) 
In the Attacker Dice column of the World Map Piracy section the following text is missing from the entry on Base dice: 

"; 2 otherwise. Calculate after defender’s roll."  

This information is correct in the rule book (Page 25, Section 16.5, World Map Piracy Procedure, Step 4). 

Cards 
#3 Spanish Road:  

Change “spaces controlled by inactive HRE in a 4 or 5-player game” to “spaces controlled by inactive HRE in a 
game with fewer than 6 players.” 



 
 
#74 Scottish Lords Rebel:  Add the following text as the third sentence on the card:  

“All Scottish spaces come under control of the power who wins the diplomacy roll and all units in Scotland not of 
or allied with the controlling power are displaced.” 

Rule Book 
Page 5, Inland Waterways: 
 Change “for the purposes of Conversion attempts” to “for the purpose of Conversion attempts or Rebellions.” 
 
Page 12, Section 9.1, Negotiations, fourth bullet on this page: 
 Change the first case to read: 

(a) the space is being given back to its Home power (if a space is returned to a minor power that has a 
major power ally, add a control marker of that major power to the space), 
 

 Add a case that is a third possible condition allowing you to yield political control of a space: 
(c) the space is an Independent home space and is either:  
- adjacent by land to a Home space of the power that is receiving the space, or  
- is connected to the same sea zone as a Home space of the power that is receiving the space. 

 
Page 14, Restrictions at All Times, first bullet: 

Remove reference to “Ally Only,” -- this status was dropped during playtesting. 
 

Page 16, Example of Extending the Impulse with a Treasure: 
 Add, “and Naval Transport” to the list of actions that is prohibited by the earlier “blue” action. 
 
Page 17, Land Movement Procedure, Restrictions, Third Bullet: 
 Change the second sub-bullet to read (changes are listed in blue): 

“• all units in the space are enemies of the active power (and this is neither a fortified space where one enemy 
has another enemy under siege nor a fortified space controlled by an ally of both the active power and all 
powers with units already in the space);” 

 
Page 18, End of first paragraph on page: 

Add this text: “If a naval leader is ever alone in an unfortified space when enemy land units enter due to enemy 
movement, retreat, or interception, place that leader on the Turn Track to reenter play on the next turn.” 
 

Page 18, Left Column, Just above Land Movement Procedure: 
Change the sentence that begins “The two Move actions…” to a normal font size and boldness. 
 

Page 20, Assault Procedure, Step 2: 
 Remove the sentence: “The active player has one final chance to play the Response card Reiters to change the 

number of units in the space.” This card cannot be played in a space under siege. 
 
Page 25, Section 16.6, Circumnavigation: 
 Change the headings of the third and fourth bullets to “English, French, Holy Roman, Protestant”. 
 
Page 23, Section 16.2, Naval Combat Procedure, Step 8: 
 Change the third sentence to read: “If England was participating in the combat with race-built galleons in an  

Atlantic sea zone (not a port), they may ignore one hit with a “5” for each race-built galleon involved in the 
fight.” 

 
Page 27, Section 18.4 Rebellions, Restrictions: 
 Reword the first bullet as follows: 



“A religious struggle area may not be targeted by a Rebellion more than once in the same impulse." 

Page 29, Section 18.5, Rebellion Procedure, Step 4: 
Change the sentence: “Additional spaces adjacent to the target space and in the same religious struggle area 
may also be switched to Protestant political control if they are both under Protestant religious influence and 
free of Catholic units.”  

To now read: “Additional spaces adjacent to the target space and in the same religious struggle area may also be 
switched to Protestant political control if they are free of Catholic units and meet the same four criteria listed in 
Step 1.” 

Page 30, Section 18.5, Rebellion Procedure, Step 7: 
Change “must be a fortified space” to “must be a fortified Protestant home space”. 
 

Page 31, Section 19.4, English Catholic Rebellion Procedure, Step 1: 
Add the word “attempts” at the end of the phrase “The Spanish player takes 6 Catholic Conversions…” 

 
Page 31, Section 19.4, English Catholic Rebellion Procedure, Step 5: 

Change the sentence: “Additional spaces adjacent to the target space may also be switched to Spanish political 
control if they are both under Catholic religious influence and free of Protestant units.”  

To now read: “Additional spaces adjacent to the target space may also be switched to Spanish political control if 
they are free of Protestant units and meet the same four criteria listed in Step 2.” 

Page 34, Explanation of Royal Wedding Table Results: 
Change “the Holy Roman in a 4 or 5-player game” to “the Holy Roman in a game with fewer than 6 players.” 

 
Page 37, Section 23.2, Armada: 

Add this new section after the section “Combat”: 
Retreat: A stack of naval units that includes the Armada may not retreat into a port under siege.  
  

Page 40, Section 24.2, Activation, Steps 3 and 4: 
 Add a second sentence to each of these bullets that reads: 

“Units that are not from either this minor power or the activating power are displaced if they occupy 
one of these minor power home spaces that just had a control marker removed.” 

 
Page 41, Section 24.6, Diplomatic Status Procedure, Step 3: 

Change the sentence that reads:   
“In the case of a tie, the winner is the power listed highest in the list of Activate powers at the bottom of 
the Diplomatic Influence Table.”   

To this instead: 
“In the case of a tie, the winner is the power that comes first in Impulse Order.” 

Scenario Book 
Page 4, Tutorial Scenario, Diplomatic Influence Table: 

As mentioned in Special Rule 5 on the next page, for this scenario (only) the Ottoman is able to add Diplomatic 
Influence to the Papacy. However there is not a third Ottoman Diplomatic Influence marker in the counter set. 
Use the green “VP Baseline” marker as a substitute. 
 

Page 10, Tournament Scenario, Diplomatic Status Display:  
The sentence say that neither war can be ended is incorrect.  It should instead read: 
“The war between the Ottomans and Spain cannot be ended during Turn 3 negotiations (the first turn of this 
scenario). The war between France and the Protestant may be ended.” 
 



Page 10, 2-Player Configuration, At Start Diplomatic Influence Change: 
Add the sentence: “Remove the French Influence marker from the Ottoman column on the Diplomatic Influence 
table; France may not influence the Ottoman in a 2-player game.” 
 

Pages 10 and 11, 2, 3, 4 and 5-Player Configurations, At Start Diplomatic Influence Change: 
Add this sentence to the At Start Diplomatic Influence Change sections for all 4 of these configurations: “Set 
aside the HRE Influence markers that usually are placed on the Papacy, Venice, and Ireland. The HRE cannot 
influence these minor powers until it is activated.” 

 
Page 11, Controlling Two Powers, second bullet: 

Add this sentence: “[When the Catholic League is formed in a 2-player game, skip the portion of Step 4 (War 
Status) that calls for Spain to go to war with France].” 

 
Page 12, Activation, Step 5, Set Diplomatic Influence:  
 Change to read: “All Influence markers in the column of this activating major power are placed in the Resolved 

This Turn box. All influence markers that this activating major power has for minor powers are reset to their 
default values.” 

   
Page 12, Deactivation: 
 The fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth bullets in this procedure should be amended to read:  

• Units from other powers are displaced if they occupy one of the spaces controlled by the deactivating power. 
Follow the procedure described in (12.5). 

• All land units of the power being deactivated are returned to friendly-controlled, fortified spaces as per the 
Winter Phase rules (20.4). 

• All naval leaders and units of the power being deactivated are returned to friendly-controlled ports as per the 
Winter Phase rules (20.4). 

• All cards and treasures currently in the deactivating power’s hand are immediately discarded (even if this 
major power is going to be immediately activated as an ally of a different major power). 

• All Influence markers in the column of this activating major power are placed in the Resolved This Turn box. All 
influence markers that this activating major power has for minor powers are set aside. 

 
Add these two additional steps whenever a Major Power is deactivated: 

 • Remove all “Allied” markers between this deactivating major power and other powers.  
• Remove all +1 Card and -1 Card markers from this deactivating power’s Power Card 

 
Page 17, Extended Example of Play, Protestant Move, CP3-4: 

Rebellions may not flip more spaces than the number of CP spent on the action. So this Rebellion should only flip 
2 spaces.  Assume only Amsterdam and Haarlem are flipped (but not Alkmaar). A Spanish control marker on the 
Protestant religious side should thus appear on Alkmaar in the figures on Pages 17 and 20. 
 

Page 18, Extended Example of Play, English Move, CP1-2: 
Drake’s bonus is “Chooses piracy reward; can repair. England chooses the reward for any piracy hit when Drake 
is present, instead of the target power as usual.” However the example shows the Spanish player choosing the 
piracy reward (the proper procedure for any sea captain other than Drake).  For the sake of the example, 
assume the English player chose to select a treasure (to deprive it from Spain) and the result remained the same 
(a 1 CP treasure was drawn at random). 

 
Page 20, Extended Example of Play, Protestant Move (final paragraph): 

The example reads: “The Protestant now extends their impulse with a 2 CP treasure. 2 mercenaries are added to 
Utrecht to defend it against a Spanish counterattack.” However the Protestant used their only treasure during 
their round 2 impulse (page 18). Therefore this final treasure expenditure should be dropped from the extended 
example of play (and the 2 mercenary counter removed from Utrecht in the “After the Protestant impulse” 
figure). 


